Designing a tech career road map

Designing a tech career road map

basic tips on transitioning into tech

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

You have decided that you want to get in to tech but have no idea how to start? this is usually the

dilemma for a lot of people especially people without tech background,so you are not alone a lot people are as confused as you are and the question is how do i transition.

Most people don't ask enough questions before transitioning into tech when they start.This makes them to get stuck and confused. I will be sharing some tips below that i learnt from yewande odumusu on youtube on designing a road map into tech.

transitioning into tech is difficult these are basis questions that should be asked:

  1. what skill do i have

    • are you good at writing,speaking or maybe you like to solve problem these are skills you can use.
  1. what do people say i am are good at

    -what is that thing you do that make people give you compliment

    1. what are my strength

    2. what motivate me.

    3. what topic or skill do i know more than most people in my circle

When you finally have answer to these questions the next to do is to:

-   Explore your interest

-   take intro courses on all your areas of tech interest and know which align with you best

-  know if you want a linear or non linear tech career tech

-  volunteer for projects to get real life experience
  • join a tech community

  • get a mentor-{online or offline}

  • build your knowledge and keep learning

  • apply for internships,freelance, and project based work.

Now that you know all these this is what i need you to tell yourself:

-  I would take intro courses and find one that resonate with me and focus on it and learn all the necessary skill i need to achieve, before trying out my other tech interest.

-   I will join communities where i can interact with people and learn.

-   I will be consistent and focused on learning.

-  I will get an online mentor.

I believe you better informed now

you can check this link below to watch the video by "yewande odumosu" to get more on this topic. Transitioning into tech